Search This Blog

Sunday, February 14, 2010


Background Information
Genres:-Blackened death metal,black metal(early)
Years active:-1991-present
Labels:-Music Blade,Muclear Blast,Wild Rages,Pagan,AdvantragadeMusic,Regain,Century Media

Adam Darski
Tomasz Wroblewski
Zbigniew Robert Prominski
Patryk Dominik Sztyber

Behemoth (band)

Behemoth is a Polish blackened death metal band from Gdansk, formed in 1991. They are considered to have played an important role in establishing the Polish extreme metal underground, alongside bands such asVader, Decapitated,Vesania and Hate.

Until the late 1990s, the band played a traditional black metal style with heathen lyrical content, but soon changed to that of occult and thelemic themes written by their lead vocalist Nergal and Krzysztof Azarewicz. With the 1999 release of Satanica, the band showed their presence in the blackened death metal scene, while retaining their own signature style characterized by the drum work of Inferno, multi-layered vocals andNile-styleMiddle-Eastern influences. Even though Behemoth has been labeled as death metal, black metal or thrash influenced, Nergal has mentioned that he doesn't like the band to be labeled.


In July 2007 the All-Polish Committee for Defense Against Sects distributed a list of bands that allegedly promote Satanism and murder to many Polish officials. Critics of this policy primarily see this as a violation of free speech, with the most scathing criticism generally emanating from within the metal community. As of present, the list has not gone into effect, and Behemoth is still allowed to play in Poland freely.

Current Members
  • Adam "Nergal" Darski – vocals, guitars, acoustic guitar, synthesizer, programming (1991–present) bass guitar (1991-1992, 1993-1997, 1999–present)
  • Tomasz "Orion" Worblewski – bass guitar, backing vocals (2004–present)
  • Zbigniew Robert "Inferno" Prominski– drums and percussion (1997–present)
  • Patryk "Seth" Sztyber – guitars, backing vocals (2004–present)
Former members

  • Leszek "L.Kaos" Dziegielewski (1995–1996, 1998–1999)
  • Adam "Desecrator" Malinowski (1991–1992)
  • Mateusz "Havoc" Smierzchalski (2000–2004)
  • RafaƂ "Frost / Browar" Brauer (1992–1993)
  • Mefisto (–1998)
  • Orcus (1993)
  • Matcin "Novy" Nowak (2000–2003)
  • Adam "Baal" Ravenlock" Muraszko (1991–1997)
Session keyboard
  • Piotr Weltrowski
  • Maciej Niedzielski
  • Robert "Rob Darken" Fudali (1992–1994)
Studio albums
  • Seventevith (Stroming Near the Baltic)(1995)
  • Gorm (1996)
  • Pandemonic Incantations(1998)
  • Satanica(1999)
  • Thelema.6 (2000)
  • Zos Kia Cultus (Hera and Beyond) (2002)
  • Demigod (2004)
  • The Apostasy(2007)
  • Evangelion (2009)

No comments:

Post a Comment